Extreme Multitasking


IMG_0340It is the end of the semester, almost. Standing between me and closure on this semester are two research papers, one final exam, and a myriad of tasks for the honor society, including attending an event.

The list of what I have already accomplished this morning is long. Yet, I don’t feel as though I have accomplished anything because each task completed was merely a small part of larger projects, and none of my big three To Do’s have been given enough attention (yes, I am being extremely self-critical).

You see, I am a task-oriented individual. I do not consider activity, even small accomplishments, as true accomplishments. A completed project is a true accomplishment to me. As much as I talk about the journey being my focus, the part of me that is task-oriented is still very much alive. This creates conflict within me a lot.

When I have a really long list of responsibilities and projects looming before me, I then get overwhelmed. My ADHD doesn’t help with this, either. Nor does three days of eating poorly.

What do I have going?

IMG_0341I have two projects opened on one of my laptops: the honor society newsletter and one of my research papers waiting for formatting in MS Word and a revision.

I have two monitors connected to my desktop computer: Monitor 1 has another research paper open. Monitor 2 has this blog post, Google Drive with honor society doc waiting for composition (I typed the title), scholarly sources chosen for the research paper on Monitor 1, research for an honor society project, the honor society’s Facebook page, and Gmail.

Ah, my phone just began making this wonderfully relaxing sound reminding me to stop and “Breathe.” I stop whatever I am doing and take at least 5 deep breaths at 9:30 a.m. every day. Sometimes I only take three. Today I took four.

Something has to give. I am closing the research paper document on the desktop computer. The first research paper on my laptop needs a revision and formatting before this afternoon’s class where I hope my professor will give it a quick scan and make suggestions — ding ding — a priority. The honor society newsletter needs to be completed and printed out for tomorrow’s event, but is not urgent for today. I need to close that. I will complete this post in a few minutes and close this tab. I will close all of the research tabs because I have downloaded those sources to my computer. I will type up what is essential in the Google Doc I started.

There, that’s better.

I brought some order to my insanely disordered workspace. Hopefully, this will also help my brain focus better.

A few more deep breaths and ten minutes on my recumbent exercise bicycle is a must. Oxygen to the brain . . . yes, I need oxygen.

Extreme multitasking is not a good idea. Closing tabs, exiting applications, creating a little more order, and taking care of ME were the order of this woman’s morning. Yep, that is much better.

Leave a Reply

