Conversational Snippets


We were trying to collectively figure out what movie we wanted to watch for my 21-year-old son’s birthday celebration (we didn’t have the money or energy to do anything else). My 18-year-old pointed at a Netflix envelope and asked what was in there. I replied, “Iron Maiden documentary.”

He looked at me questioningly and said, “The torture device or the rock band?”

What do you think?
329px-Zelazna_dama.svg
OR

Credit: Markus Rantala/Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

Credit: Markus Rantala/Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

Okay, I won’t leave you hanging (if anyone cares). I confess that I watch a lot of true crime and historical documentaries. But . . .

I took Mythology this semester, and one of the works of literature that we studied was “Rime of the Ancient Mariner” poem by Samuel Taylor Coleridge. In researching the poem, I discovered Iron Maiden’s song of the same title, which I really like, by the way.

So . . . the Netflix DVD was a documentary entitled, “Iron Maiden: Flight 666” about the metal band’s 2008 international tour using their own 757 piloted by the band’s lead singer, Bruce Dickinson, where they played 23 concerts and flew 50,000 miles in 45 days.

I am a sucker for a talented guitarist, and there were three plus one super-talented bassist featured in this documentary. Next, I want to see a DVD of one of their entire concerts. So much talent.

P.S. Lest any religious folk get up in arms about the title of the documentary, Iron Maiden references to the devil, demonic stuff, and etc. in their songs is just a part of their act. It is not a reflection of their personal religious beliefs, nor are they satanists. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

